Big thanks to Karina’s Kitchen Recipes for this amazing “Gluten-Free Cheat-Sheet for Going G-free(I am posting this for myself as much as for anyone else who is GF-curious).

Gluten is the elastic protein in the grains: wheat, rye, barley, durum, einkorn, graham, semolina, bulgur wheat, spelt, farro, kamut, and triticale. Commercial oats also contain gluten due to cross contamination in processing.

Recipes that use flour (bleached white flour, whole wheat, cracked wheat, barley, semolina, spelt, farro, kamut, triticale) or vital wheat gluten are not gluten-free.

Semolina, spelt and whole wheat pasta, including couscous, are not gluten-free.

Beer, ale and lager are not gluten-free. Brats, meats and sausage cooked in beer are not gluten-free.

Malt vinegar, malt flavorings and barley malt are not gluten-free.

Recipes calling for breadcrumbs, breaded coatings, flour dredging, bread and flat bread, croutons, bagels, croissants, flour tortillas, pizza crust, graham crackers, granola, cereal, wheat germ, wheat berries, cookie crumbs, pie crust, crackers, pretzels, toast, flour tortillas, wraps and lavash, or pita bread are not gluten-free.

The vegan protein called seitan is not gluten-free; and some tempeh is not gluten-free (you must check). Flavored tofu may or may not be gluten-free. Injera bread (traditionally made from teff flour) and Asian rice wraps may be gluten-free, but are not necessarily gluten-free (check labels).

Barley enzymes used in malt, natural flavors, and to process some non-dairy beverages, chocolate chips, coffee and dessert syrups (and even some brown rice syrups), are not gluten-free. Always check.

Gluten is sneaky.

Hidden gluten can be found in gravy, broth, bouillon, soy sauce, tamari, marinades, sauces, salad dressings, cured meats, sausage, hot dogs, vegan hot dogs, sausages and burgers, self-basting poultry, flavored and herb cheeses, blue veined (bread mold based) cheeses, spice blends including curry powder, dry mustard, canned and prepared soups, tomato paste, sweeteners, confectioner’s and brown sugar, beverages, flavored coffees, herbal teas (watch for barley), roasted, flavored or spiced nuts, jerky, flavored yogurts and puddings, some chocolate and chocolate chips, cocoa and instant coffee mixes, flavored vinegars, cooking wines, flavored liqueur and liquor, wine coolers, some ice cream and frozen desserts. Always read labels. Call the manufacturer.

What IS gluten-free?

Grains, flours, starches and thickeners that are safe for celiac and wheat allergies include:

  • Corn, grits, polenta and cornmeal
  • Buckwheat, buckwheat cereal, kasha and buckwheat flour
  • Rice- white, brown, risotto, basmati, jasmine, sticky rice, rice cereal
  • Rice flour- white rice, sweet (glutinous) rice and brown rice flour
  • Quinoa, quinoa cereal flakes, and quinoa flour
  • Millet and millet flour
  • Sorghum flour
  • Amaranth and amaranth flour
  • Certified gluten-free oats and oatmeal
  • Coconut flour
  • Teff flour
  • Nut meals and flours- almond, chestnut, pecan, cashew
  • Chick pea, garbanzo, soy (soya) and bean flour
  • Tapioca and tapioca starch (manioc)
  • Potato flour and starch
  • Sweet potato and yam flour
  • Arrowroot starch
  • Cornstarch

Pre-made ingredients that are safe for celiac include:

  • 100% corn tortillas and taco shells, pre-made polenta rolls
  • Plain teff wraps made from 100% teff flour
  • Plain 100% brown rice tortilla wraps
  • Unflavored mochi
  • 100% Corn pasta
  • Quinoa and corn pasta
  • Soy pasta (if it states gluten-free)
  • Brown and white rice pasta, rice noodles, rice glass noodles
  • 100% buckwheat soba noodles
  • Rice paper, rice and tapioca rice paper wraps
  • 100% nut butters: almond, peanut, cashew, pecan
  • 100% seed butters:  sesame tahini, sunflower and hemp seed butter

About baking recipes:

When it comes to converting your favorite baking recipes to gluten-free, a simple one-to-one flour substitution will not yield the same results as your recipe based on wheat flour.

Gluten is a giving, stretchy ingredient that supports rise, structure, texture and kneadablity. It takes more than a single gluten-free flour replacement to make a cake, bread, muffin or cookie recipe work. A combination of gluten-free flours and starches with some extra egg whites or leavening, and xanthan gum added to improve viscosity is necessary for optimum results.

The Gluten-Free Cheat-Sheet is © 2009 Karina Allrich All rights reserved.

Advertisements